Mythologies, myths and legends of the world

Discover the culture, tales, myths, legends, mythologies and folklore of civilizations and empires through the ages.

You can choose the geographical area by clicking on the name that appears on the map or in the site menu.

myths and legends mythology

Find our 2022 calendar with the festivals of contemporary and past religions: January, February, March, April, May, June, July, August, September, October, November, December.

find us on Facebook and instagram to follow the news of the site and have the calendar day by day!

Home myth

In current usage, "mythology" generally refers to the collection of myths of a group of people. For example, Greek mythology, Roman mythology, Celtic mythology, and Hittite mythology all describe the set of myths told among these cultures.

Mythology can also refer to the study of myths and mythologies.

Myth is a folk genre made up of stories that play a fundamental role in a society, such as founding tales or origin myths. Since the term is widely used to imply that a story is not objectively true, identifying a story as a myth can be very controversial.

Many followers of religions consider the stories of their own religions to be the truth and therefore object to this characterization which they consider appropriate for the stories of other religions (which is quite contradictory in itself).

As such, some scholars refer to all religious accounts as "myths" for practical reasons, such as to avoid devaluing a particular tradition because cultures interpret each other differently.

Other scholars avoid using this term altogether and instead use different terms like "sacred history", "holy history", or simply "history" to avoid giving pejorative connotations to any sacred narrative. We can also speak of folklore or written tradition. These texts as well as the legends are considered as true accounts of their distant past, often romanticized.

In particular, the Creation texts are set in a primordial time when the world had not reached its later form. Other texts explain how the customs, institutions and taboos of a society were established and sanctified. There is a complex relationship between the recitation of myths and the performance of rituals.

The main characters in mythology are usually non-humans, such as gods, demigods, and other supernatural characters. Others also include humans, animals, or combinations. Stories of ordinary humans, though often rulers of some type, are usually contained in legends. The site contains both types of texts.

A legend is a genre of folklore that consists of a narrative depicting human actions, considered or perceived, by both the storyteller and the listeners, to have taken place in human history. Stories of this kind can demonstrate human values and possess certain qualities that give the tale a verisimilitude.

Many legendary texts operate in the realm of uncertainty, never being entirely believed by participants, but also never being resolutely questioned. Lhe Brothers Grimm defined the legend as “a historically grounded folk tale”. A byproduct of the 'concern for human beings' is the long list of legendary creatures, leaving no 'resolved doubt' that the legends are 'historically embedded'.

Folklore is the whole culture shared by a particular group of people; it encompasses the traditions common to that culture, subculture or group. This includes oral traditions such as tales, legends, proverbs and jokes.

They include material culture, ranging from traditional building styles to handmade toys common to the group. Folklore also includes customary traditions, actions for popular beliefs, forms and rituals of celebrations such as Christmas and weddings, folk dances and initiation rites.

Each of them, alone or in combination, is considered a folk artifact or a traditional cultural expression. Just as essential as the form, folklore also encompasses the transmission of these artifacts from one region to another or from one generation to another.

A festival is an event usually celebrated by a community and centered on a characteristic aspect of that community and its religion or cultures. It is often marked as a local or national holiday, mela or eid.

A festival constitutes typical cases of glocalization, as well as the high culture-low culture interrelation. Besides religion and folklore, an important origin is agricultural. Food is such a vital resource that many festivals are associated with harvest time.

Religious commemoration and thanksgiving for good harvests intertwine with events that take place in the fall, such as Halloween in the northern hemisphere and Easter in the south.

Festivals have long been important in human culture and are found in virtually every culture. The importance of the holidays, until now, is found in the private and the public; secular and religious life. Ancient Greek and Roman societies relied heavily on festivals, both communal and administrative.

The Saturnalia probably had an influence on Christmas and Carnival. Celebration of social occasions, religion and nature were common. Specific festivals have centuries-old histories and festivals in general have developed over recent centuries – some traditional festivals in Ghana, for example, predate European colonization in the 15th century.

Many festivals have religious origins and blend cultural and religious significance with traditional activities. The most important religious holidays such as Christmas, Rosh Hashanah, Diwali, Eid al-Fitr and Eid al-Adha serve to mark the year. Others, such as harvest festivals, celebrate the change of seasons.

Events of historical significance, such as significant military victories or other nation-building events, also provide impetus for a festival. An early example is the festival established by the ancient Egyptian pharaoh Ramesses III celebrating his victory over the Libyans. In many countries, royal festivals commemorate dynastic events just as agricultural festivals relate to harvests. Festivals are often commemorated annually.

There are many types of festivals around the world and most countries celebrate significant events or traditions with traditional cultural events and activities. Most result in the consumption of specially prepared food (showing the connection to 'feasting') and bring people together. Festivals are also strongly associated with national holidays. Lists of national festivals are published to facilitate participation.

Among many religions, a feast is a set of celebrations in honor of God or gods. A feast and a festival are historically interchangeable. Most religions have holidays that recur every year and some, such as Passover, Easter and Eid al-Adha, are moveable holidays, that is, those that are determined either by lunar cycles or agriculture, or by the calendar in force at the time.

The site is part of the Amazon Partners Club. Each purchase brings in between 5 and 10% of the price to the owners of the site.

To share
en_GBEN

Mythologies, mythes et légendes du monde

Découvrez la culture, les contes, mythes, légendes, mythologies et le folklore des civilisations et empires à travers les âges.

Vous pouvez choisir la zone géographique en cliquant sur le nom qui s’affiche sur la carte ou dans le menu du site.

mythes et légendes mythologie

Retrouvez notre calendrier 2022 avec les fêtes des religions contemporaines et passées : Janvier, Février, Mars, Avril, Mai, Juin, Juillet, Aout, Septembre, Octobre, Novembre, Décembre.

Retrouvez nous sur Facebook et Instagram pour suivre l’actualité du site et avoir le calendrier jour par jour !

Accueil mythe

Dans l’usage actuel, la « mythologie » fait généralement référence à la collection de mythes d’un groupe de personnes. Par exemple, la mythologie grecque, la mythologie romaine, la mythologie celtique et la mythologie hittite décrivent toutes l’ensemble des mythes racontés parmi ces cultures.

La mythologie peut également faire référence à l’étude des mythes et des mythologies.

Le mythe est un genre folklorique composé de récits qui jouent un rôle fondamental dans une société, comme les contes fondateurs ou les mythes d’origine. Étant donné que le terme est largement utilisé pour impliquer qu’une histoire n’est pas objectivement vraie, l’identification d’un récit en tant que mythe peut être très controversée.

De nombreux adeptes de religions considèrent les histoires de leurs propres religions comme la vérité et s’opposent donc à cette caractérisation qu’ils considèrent pourtant adaptée pour les histoires des autres religions (ce qui est assez contradictoire en soit).

En tant que tels, certains chercheurs qualifient tous les récits religieux de «mythes» pour des raisons pratiques, par exemple pour éviter de déprécier une tradition en particulier parce que les cultures s’interprètent différemment les unes par rapport aux autres.

D’autres érudits évitent complètement d’utiliser ce terme et utilisent à la place des termes différents comme «histoire sacrée», «histoire sainte» ou simplement «histoire» pour éviter de donner des connotations péjoratives à tout récit sacré. On peut aussi parler de folklore ou de tradition écrite. Ces textes ainsi que les légendes sont considérés comme de véritables récits de leur passé lointain, souvent romancé.

En particulier, les textes de la création se déroulent à une époque primordiale où le monde n’avait pas atteint sa forme ultérieure. D’autres textes expliquent comment les coutumes, les institutions et les tabous d’une société ont été établis et sanctifiés. Il existe une relation complexe entre la récitation des mythes et la mise en œuvre des rituels.

Les personnages principaux de la mythologie sont généralement des non-humains, tels que des dieux, des demi-dieux et d’autres personnages surnaturels. D’autres incluent également des humains, des animaux ou des combinaisons. Les histoires d’humains ordinaires, bien que souvent de dirigeants d’un certain type, sont généralement contenues dans des légendes. Le site contient les deux types de textes.

Une légende est un genre de folklore qui consiste en un récit mettant en scène des actions humaines, considérées ou perçues, à la fois par le conteur et les auditeurs, comme ayant eu lieu dans l’histoire humaine. Les récits de ce genre peuvent démontrer des valeurs humaines et posséder certaines qualités qui donnent au conte une vraisemblance.

De nombreuses textes légendaires opèrent dans le domaine de l’incertitude, n’étant jamais entièrement crues par les participants, mais aussi n’étant jamais résolument mises en doute. Les frères Grimm ont défini la légende comme  » un conte populaire historiquement ancré « . Un sous-produit de la  » préoccupation pour les êtres humains  » est la longue liste de créatures légendaires, ne laissant aucun  » doute résolu  » sur le fait que les légendes sont  » historiquement ancrées « .

Le folklore est l’ensemble de la culture partagée par un groupe particulier de personnes ; il englobe les traditions communes à cette culture, sous-culture ou groupe. Cela inclut les traditions orales telles que les contes, les légendes, les proverbes et les blagues.

Ils incluent la culture matérielle, allant des styles de construction traditionnels aux jouets faits à la main communs au groupe. Le folklore comprend également les traditions coutumières, les actions pour les croyances populaires, les formes et les rituels des célébrations telles que Noël et les mariages, les danses folkloriques et les rites d’initiation.

Chacun d’eux, seul ou en combinaison, est considéré comme un artefact folklorique ou une expression culturelle traditionnelle. Tout aussi essentiel que la forme, le folklore englobe aussi la transmission de ces artefacts d’une région à l’autre ou d’une génération à l’autre.

Un festival est un événement généralement célébré par une communauté et centré sur un aspect caractéristique de cette communauté et de sa religion ou de ses cultures. Il est souvent marqué comme une fête locale ou nationale, mela ou eid.

Un festival constitue des cas typiques de glocalisation, ainsi que l’interrelation haute culture-basse culture. A côté de la religion et du folklore, une origine importante est agricole. La nourriture est une ressource si vitale que de nombreux festivals sont associés au temps des récoltes.

La commémoration religieuse et l’action de grâce pour les bonnes récoltes se mêlent à des événements qui ont lieu en automne, comme Halloween dans l’hémisphère nord et Pâques dans le sud.

Les festivals ont longtemps été importants dans la culture humaine et se retrouvent dans pratiquement toutes les cultures. L’importance des fêtes, jusqu’à présent, se retrouve dans le privé et le public ; vie laïque et religieuse. Les sociétés grecques et romaines antiques s’appuyaient fortement sur les fêtes, à la fois communales et administratives.

Les Saturnales ont probablement eu une influence sur Noël et le Carnaval. La célébration d’occasions sociales, la religion et la nature étaient courantes. Les festivals spécifiques ont des histoires séculaires et les festivals en général se sont développés au cours des derniers siècles – certains festivals traditionnels au Ghana, par exemple, sont antérieurs à la colonisation européenne du XVe siècle.

De nombreux festivals ont des origines religieuses et mêlent une signification culturelle et religieuse aux activités traditionnelles. Les fêtes religieuses les plus importantes telles que Noël, Roch Hachana, Diwali, l’Aïd al-Fitr et l’Aïd al-Adha servent à marquer l’année. D’autres, comme les fêtes des récoltes, célèbrent le changement de saison.

Des événements d’importance historique, tels que des victoires militaires importantes ou d’autres événements d’édification de la nation, donnent également l’impulsion à un festival. Un des premiers exemples est le festival établi par l’ancien pharaon égyptien Ramsès III célébrant sa victoire sur les Libyens. Dans de nombreux pays, les fêtes royales commémorent des événements dynastiques tout comme les fêtes agricoles concernent les récoltes. Les festivals sont souvent commémorés chaque année.

Il existe de nombreux types de festivals dans le monde et la plupart des pays célèbrent des événements ou des traditions importantes avec des événements et des activités culturelles traditionnelles. La plupart aboutissent à la consommation d’aliments spécialement préparés (montrant le lien avec le « festin ») et rassemblent les gens. Les festivals sont également fortement associés aux fêtes nationales. Des listes de festivals nationaux sont publiées pour faciliter la participation.

Parmi de nombreuses religions, une fête est un ensemble de célébrations en l’honneur de Dieu ou des dieux. Une fête et un festival sont historiquement interchangeables. La plupart des religions ont des fêtes qui se reproduisent chaque année et certaines, comme la Pâque, Pâques et l’Aïd al-Adha, sont des fêtes mobiles, c’est-à-dire celles qui sont déterminées soit par les cycles lunaires ou agricoles, soit par le calendrier en vigueur à l’époque.

Le site fait partie du Club Partenaires Amazon. Chaque achat rapporte entre 5 et 10% du prix aux propriétaires du site.

Partager
fr_FRFR