Cheyenne-Arapaho mythology

Cheyenne-Arapaho mythology

The mythology Cheyenne-Arapaho includes the following Native American peoples: Arapahos, Cow People, Cheyennes, Atsinas, Gros Ventres, Blackfoot Confederation.

The Arapahos (also called Arapahoes Where Cow People in French) are an Amerindian tribe. During the time of European colonization they lived in the plains of eastern Colorado and Wyoming.

The Cheyennes are a Native American nation of the Great Plains, close allies of the Arapaho and generally allies of the Lakota (Sioux). They are one of the most famous and important Plains tribes. In their mother tongue, they call themselves “Tsitsistas” or “Sutai”. The Cheyenne nation is made up of the union of two tribes, the Tsitsistas and the Sotaae'o. It included ten bands, whose territories spanned the entire Great Plains, from southern Colorado to the Black Hills in the Dakota from South.

The Atsinas (Where Fat Bellies) are a Native American tribe inhabiting the plains of northern Montana and southern Saskatchewan, between the rivers Missouri and Saskatchewan.

The Confederation of the Blackfoot, also known under the English name of Blackfoot confederacy, includes three North American Indian tribes from the Great Plains of Alberta in Canada and Montana in the United States: the Siksikas, the Pikunis and the Bloods. In their own language, the pied-noir, they are called Niitsítapi ("The original people"). Together, they form a political confederation, sometimes extended to the tribes of Tsuu T'ina and Atsinas.

Cheyenne-Arapaho mythology

Cheyenne-Arapaho mythology (texts)

Books on Algic mythology