Tahitian Mythology - Of The Wind

The mythology Tahitian – Windward Islands refers to the myths and legends Tahitian from Tahiti and the surrounding area. The Windward Islands are a group of five islands located to the east of the Leeward Islands. The Windward Islands and the Leeward Islands form the Society Archipelago. They consist of four high islands and an atoll:

  • Tahiti,
  • Moorea,
  • Maiao,
  • Mehetia,
  • and the atoll of Tetiaroa.

The name "The Windward Islands" is a translation of the name of the archipelago in Tahitian language: "Te fenua ni'a mata'i", Where "The land in the wind". According to the tradition reported by Marau Taaroa Salmon, wife of Pōmare V, Taaroa created the island, then gave the names of "Hiti nui" to the greater part and "Hiti iti" to the smallest ("large edge" and "small edge"). Then a new marae, built in Punaauia or Papeari, would have been named marae Tahiti or marae Te ara o Tahiti ("the way, the awakening, the vigilance of Tahiti"). The whole island today would bear the name of this marae prestigious

Tahitian mythology islands of the wind

Tahitian Mythology - Of The Wind (texts)

Oceanic Islands Mythology Books