Chocó mythology

The Mythology Chocó brings together the following peoples of Central America and the West Indies: Choco, Tatamá, Citar, Cimbará, Eyabid, Dobid, Pusabid, Oibid

Chocó was the name the conquerors gave to the natives of the Pacific coast. Among them were those who called themselves Emberá (" people“) And which occupied the middle and upper basins of the Atrato and San Juan rivers and the eastern tributaries of the Baudó river.
The Emberá people consisted of four main groups, from which the current dialect groups originate:

Tatamá. In the upper San Juan and its tributaries Sima and Tatamá.
Citará . Alto Capá and Atrato.
Cimbará. Half of San Juan.
- Group of inhabitants of the tributaries east of the Atrato.
The groups shared the language, the cosmovision jaibaná, territorial mobility, non-centralized government, selva culture and social structure, with family units as the basis of their society and larger units for cooperative tasks. Their economy was based on shifting corn cultivation, hunting, fishing and gathering.

In addition, the groups were distinguished by their relation to the geographical environment (bida: existence):

Eyabida : mountain people. From " eyo " = high part of the mountain and the hillsides. Two groups are part of it: Emberá Katío and Emberá Chamí.

Dobida : people of the river. " Do " = river.

Pusabida : people of the sea. "Pusá "= Wed.

Oibida : people of the selva. "Oí = hill, interior jungle.

Choco choco mythology

Chocó mythology (texts)