Igbo mythology

The Mythology Igbo includes the following peoples and kingdoms of Central Africa: Igbo, Onitsha, Aboh, Oguta, Nri Kingdom, Aro Confederation

Before European colonization, the Igbo lived in autonomous, hierarchical and independent clans with a democratic political structure. Some of these clans, especially those located in the west of the Igbo country (Onitsha, Aboh, Oguta), organized themselves into kingdoms.

Among these clans, some of the most influential were:

- the Nri kingdom (948-1911), one of the oldest kingdoms in present-day Nigeria, whose influence extended, at its peak around the xive century, over a third of the Igbo country. At its head is the Eze Nri (a revered priest-king) with a theocratic type of government. In the territories under the influence of the Nri clan, in order to ensure judicial functions (settlement of conflicts) or to perform purification rituals, the secret society Nze na Ozo has developed;

- the Aro Confederation (1690-1902), a political union located in the south of the Igbo country. This political union of 19 city-states will quickly become an economic power in the region. The Aro confederation was a constitutional-type monarchy, the capital of which was Arochukwu, located in the present state of Abia. Its main sources of wealth were the export of palm oil and slavery. In addition, she enjoyed great religious influence; the main deity worshiped in this kingdom was Ibini Ukpabi, nicknamed "Long Juju" by the British. At its head was the Eze Aro, a sort of king-priest, and a council named Okpankpo.

The Aro kingdom disappeared at the beginning of the xxe century, following the wars between them and the British.

Igbo mythology

Igbo mythology (texts)

Books on Niger-Congo mythology