Wabanaki mythology

Wabanaki mythology

The mythology Wabanaki brings together the following Native American peoples: Confederation Wabanaki, Pentagouet, Abénaqui, Míkmaq, Micmacs, Mi'kmaq, Penawapskewi, Pentagouets, Pestomuhkati, Passamaquoddys, Wolastoqiyik, Maliseet, Malicite, Maliseet

The Wabanaki confederation (Wabenaki, Wobanaki) was a historic confederation, from the XVIIe and XVIIIe centuries, of five Amerindian nations having the Algonquin language as a common language.

Members of the Wabanaki Confederacy were located in an area they called Wabanaki (Dawnland). To Europeans, this region was known as Acadia and Maine, NewScotland and New Brunswick, plus a small portion of Quebec south of the St. Lawrence River. The western Abenaki were located in New Hampshire, Vermont and Massachusetts.

The members of the Wabanaki Confederation were:

  • Pentagouets (west Abenaki)
  • (east) Abenaki
  • Míkmaq (Micmacs or Mi'kmaq)
  • Penawapskewi (Pentagouets)
  • Pestomuhkati (Passamaquoddys)
  • Wolastoqiyik (Maliseet or Malicite or Maliseet)

They were also allies of Innu, Algonquins and Huron-Wendat.

The confederation ceased to exist in 1862, but five Wabanaki nations still exist today.

wabanaki mythology

Wabanaki mythology (texts)

Books on Algic mythology