Tahitian mythology - Tuamotu

The mythology tahitian – Tuamotu Archipelago refers to the myths and legends Tahitian from the 76 atolls. Tuamotu means in Tahitian "the offshore islands", the archipelago located east of Tahiti. The inhabitants of the Tuamotu are the Pa'umotu, a word which also designates their language. The main atolls are Anaa, Fakarava, Hao, Makemo, Manihi, Rangiroa, Tikehau and Mataiva. 

The settlement of the Tuamotu, following the settlement of Polynesia by Austranesian populations settled in Fiji around -1500, most probably took place from AD 300 from the Society archipelago which served as a base of dispersion in the centuries which followed to the populations of navigators venturing, from atoll to atoll, towards the east and settling where the living conditions were favorable before swarming again. The Polynesian population of most of the Tuamotu archipelago would have been carried out between the year 300 and the year 1100.

Tahitian mythology - Tuamotu archipelago

Tahitian mythology - Tuamotu (texts)

Oceanic Islands Mythology Books